Telecom & Wireless

ASEAN Will Open Telecom Door For Chinese Firms

China has signed a service trade agreement with ASEAN to provide greater access for Chiense domestic telecommunications operators.

According to the agreement, six ASEAN countries — Malaysia, the Philippines, Vietnam, Laos, Burma and Cambodia — will open their telecom market to Chinese firms and allow them to open solely-owned companies or joint venture companies in their respective countries.

The new agreement, which also loosens the limit on the shares that Chinese firms can hold in companies in the ASEAN countries, will take effect from July 1, 2007 and it will offer policy support to Chinese telecom operators who carry out service in the ASEAN region.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend